Social media and the traveling salesman

Did I happen to mention I went to a wine region?

We may be writers, but sometimes we’re like cheesy salesmen; traveling ones at that. We sell dreams and some of those glossy fantasies may even come true.

Feeling like a real estate agent at a home open I grease myself up as I use social media as my selling tool.  The only problem is everyone’s yelling and no-one’s listening, or buying for that matter; particularly so with Twitter. I compete with traveler’s blogging from the tops of mountains and PRs offering authentic villas in Cyprus. My trip to the local wine region doesn’t seem quite so interesting anymore, so I yell a little louder.

I don’t mind the ‘intimacy’ of Facebook though as I broadcast how I had my own ‘Lost in Translation” experience in Tokyo. No-one will ever guess the six day press trip I took actually meant I was in transit for two of those days. And in my sleep and caffeine deprived state I was herded from location to location while trying to take notes, photographs, be affable, and not look like a refugee while doing it.

Once I’ve returned home with fond memories, my story takes on a life of its own. Nostalgia gets the better of me and before I know it I’m posting photos and snippets of my journey with all the wonder of Marco Polo on his spice trail. When my story’s published I become a marketing guru and referring to myself in third person, I’m plastered all over the web and social media sites. I bask in my five minutes of glory; a tiny bit of fame without the fortune. I won’t be showing any homes in my BMW any time soon, which is fine as the world is my true abode.

If I’m a fraud, then I’m in good company. Whenever I’m feeling exposed I retreat to the conservative refrains of LinkedIn, because even introverts need to feed themselves.

– Carmen Jenner

About Carmen Jenner

I'm a freelance travel, food and lifestyle writer based in Perth, Western Australia. My work has appeared in National Geographic Traveller, The Australian, CNNGo.com, Asian Geographic Traveller, and the Explore Australia guidebook series, to name a few.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Reflections on the life of a salesman « Dr Alf's Blog

Leave a Reply

